Friday, October 16, 2009

shabbas 4a -- sinning to prevent a greater sin

The gemara rejects the possiblity that one would perform an aveira in order to prevent another person from doing a greater aveira. Tosfos points out that this rule is in effect in some places in shas. i.e that we do perform an עבירה קלה on someone else's behalf in order to prevent a greater aveira. Tosfos provides 3 explanations for when this would apply:
1. When it is your fault. This is the case where you were not מפריש and you will cause others to eat tevel so we allow you to violate an issur derabanan to be מפריש שלא מן המוקף. This can be explained as a problem of you doing an aveira of לפני עוור and thus not done for your friend but for yourself.
2. If it is a מצוה רבה. The classic example is freeing a half slave (an איסור עשה) to allow him to be fulfill פריה ורביה.
3. If the person did the aveira המזיד then we do not sin for him but בשוגג we would.

Based on 2 (and 3 above), the Shulchan Aruch סימן שו סעיף יד paskens that we DO violate an issur derabanan (and perhaps even safeik deoraisa -- see Mishna Berura about שלש פרסאות) for a grave aveira, i.e to save from shemad. The case he discusses is to violate techum shabbas to save your daughter (MB says not necessarily your own daughter) if she was kidnapped to convert her. Mishna Berura says that if she left במזיד to convert, then you still may be allowed to violate a pure איסור דרבנן. This is davka because it is not a one time aveira but will be a permanent situation (see taz).

9 comments:

Coach Factory said...

kate spade outlet, prada handbags, coach purses, coach factory, michael kors, ray ban sunglasses, tiffany and co, michael kors outlet online, longchamp handbags, tory burch outlet, burberry outlet online, ray ban, michael kors outlet, oakley sunglasses, gucci outlet, ray ban sunglasses, jordan shoes, louis vuitton outlet online, longchamp handbags, toms shoes, louboutin, polo ralph lauren outlet, coach outlet, michael kors outlet online, chanel handbags, chanel handbags, kate spade handbags, louis vuitton handbags, oakley sunglasses, true religion outlet, michael kors, longchamp outlet, true religion jeans, louboutin, nike shoes, polo ralph lauren outlet, true religion, cheap michael kors, nike free, oakley sunglasses, nike air max, air max, coach outlet store, michael kors handbags clearance, prada outlet

Coach Factory said...

mac cosmetics, ray ban pas cher, timberland, mulberry, supra shoes, yoga pants, nike air max, north face outlet, burberry, vans, louboutin, new balance shoes, montre pas cher, nike huarache, abercrombie and fitch, birkin bag, converse shoes, longchamp, nike free, north face jackets, air max, beats by dre, louis vuitton, lancel, hollister, karen millen, longchamp, nfl jerseys, michael kors, abercrombie and fitch, mont blanc, rolex watches, ralph lauren, juicy couture outlet, louis vuitton, wedding dresses, oakley pas cher, juicy couture outlet, ralph lauren, hermes, hogan, new balance pas cher, hollister, roshe run, lululemon, nike trainers, reebok outlet, converse pas cher, nike roshe, louis vuitton

Coach Factory said...

uggs on sale, canada goose, oakley sunglasses outlet, mcm handbags, canada goose, soccer shoes, chi flat iron, gucci, babyliss pro, oakley sunglasses cheap, bottega veneta, asics gel, ferragamo shoes, ghd, soccer jerseys, cheap oakley sunglasses, ugg boots, ugg boots, valentino shoes, p90x3, canada goose outlet, moncler outlet, canada goose, canada goose, moncler, ugg, marc jacobs, ugg boots, tn pas cher, moncler, converse, ralph lauren, air max, oakley vault, herve leger, insanity, celine handbags, canada goose outlet, oakley, moncler, giuseppe zanotti, instyler ionic styler, ugg, louboutin, ray ban, cheap sunglasses, hollister, jimmy choo, vans

Guo Guo said...

guowenhao20150326
kate spade outlet
cheap nba jerseys
babyliss
fitflop shoes
links of london
louis vuitton uk
toms
nfl jerseys wholesale
ray ban
longchamp handbags
lacoste shirts
herve leger
coach factory outlet
louboutin shoes
tiffany and co
links of london uk
valentino shoes
nba jerseys wholesale
hollister uk
air max 95
cheap nfl jerseys
coach outlet
mlb jerseys wholesale
louis vuitton outlet stores
ralph lauren outlet
michael kors uk
herve leger dresses
ferragamo shoes
louis vuitton handbags
air jordan concord
coach outlet online
hollister
rolex watches
coach outlet store
salomon shoes
tods shoes
lebron james shoes
hollister clothing
mac makeup
tiffany jewelry

Shijun Lin said...

shijun 5.20
ray ban outlet store
michael kors watches
retro 11
jordan 6s
michael kors
oakley sunglasses outlet
pandora jewelry
kate spade totes
true religion sale
concord 11
kobe 8
ray-ban sunglasses
hollister outlet
toms.com
louis vuitton outlet
michael kors handbags
hollister kids
ray-ban sunglasses
oakley sunglass
michael kors
abercrombie outlet
chanel outlet
tods shoes outlet
coach outlet online
michael kors outlet
ghd
jordan retro 8
jordan 11 retro
fitflop outlet
ray ban uk
michael kors
hollister clothing store
coach outlet online
jordan shoes
coach outlet
ray bans
christian louboutin sale
louis vuitton outlet
tory burch shoes
burberry outlet

kate spade outlet said...

Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes Hermes Belt UGG Boots UGG Boots Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet Online North Face Outlet Store North Face Store The North Face Outlet Louis Vuitton Factory Outlet Louis Vuittons Handbags Louis Vuittons Outlet Online Timberland Boots Cheap Timberland Boots Timberland Outlet Tory Burch Outlet Store Tory Burch Outlet Online Tory Burch Outlet North Face Outlet Store Canada Goose Jackets Canada Goose Outlet Oakley Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Outlet Store The North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Polo Ralph Lauren Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet North Face Jackets Oakley Sunglasses Toms Outlet North Face Outlet Nike Outlet Nike Hoodies Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

dong dong23 said...

mlb jerseys
cheap snapbacks
coach factory outlet
vans shoes
michael kors outlet online
longchamp outlet
ray ban sunglasses outlet
adidas yeezy
michael kors
adidas nmd
20174.22wengdongdong